top of page

Things to Do in Your Hometown

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

Winter Blues Got the Best of You?


Living in the Midwest and making it through the months of January – March is an honest struggle. Days on end of seeing little sunshine, freezing temperatures, and there being “nothing” to do has me down some days. This inspired me to gain a new perspective on small town living in the winter and make the most of each day! I encourage you to try some of the following ideas and get out of your everyday rut that the winter months can present. Start a new hobby, read instead of watching TV, dine at a new location, or finally try out one of the thousands of Pinterest recipes that you have saved.


1. “Vacation” In Your Home Town

Spend your Saturday being a visitor in your own town! I live in Small Town, USA, and there are still new restaurants and shops that I have never stepped foot into. Get out of your normal routine and go to a new location that you have always wanted to visit. Drag a friend with you and see what all your hometown has to offer!


2. Create a Gym Routine

New year, new you? Get serious this time and create a plan that will allow you to meet your goals. The winter is the perfect time to start a gym routine, especially since I struggle to be active when the weather isn’t welcoming! Create your own plan or meet with a trainer. I promise this will help you feel so much more productive during the wintery, dreary months! If you despise the gym, purchase a few simple tools that will allow you to work out from home. I have created a short ab circuit and leg circuit that gives me a way to be active in my living room. Check out the bands I use for an at-home leg and booty routine! (Linked below)

3. Discount Stores

Check out the discount stores around your area and spend the day digging for great deals!


4. Meal Prep

Take a morning preparing your meals for the week. I enjoy turning on my John Mayer playlist and spending the day in the kitchen! This has allowed me to eat healthier throughout the week as well as save money by eating a packed lunch and breakfast at work. Purchase a set of containers and cook away! (Linked below)

5. Make a Pinterest Recipe

Between my healthy dinners board, my dranks board, breakfast foods-I-actually-want-to-eat board, and desserts board, I have THOUSANDS of recipes saved on Pinterest. How many of these have I actually tried? Twenty, maybe. Search through your saved items and make something new!


6. Host a Brunch

Have your closest girlies over and host a brunch. Nothing takes away the winter drearies like a pancake charcuterie board and build-your-own mimosa bar! Complete it with some cute brunch decor. Sip, Sip, Hooray! (Linked below)


7. Start a New Hobby

DIY, baking, yoga, dog walking, or financial planning. Find something that peaks your interest and try it!


8. Create a Budget

Review your finances (I know; scary), create expenditure categories, and create yourself a budget. Consider your goals versus what you are spending monthly. Currently, I have set both long term and short term goals for my finances and am building an emergency fund. Create a budget that is doable for you, and work towards following it.


9. Cook Dinner for Your Family

Surprise your family and invite the entire crew over for a dinner cooked by yours truly.


10. Spa Day

Treat yourself! Nothing brightens my mood quite like a day at the spa.


11. Walk Outside When it is Sunny

Take advantage of the days when it is nice outside in the Midwest during the winter. Sunny and 30 degrees is a heatwave for us, and I love to get outdoors as much as I can! Bundle up and go for a walk on local trails.


12. Short Road Trip to a New Town

Gather a group of friends and plan a weekend road trip to a nearby town. I can guarantee there are new spots that y’all haven’t been that are within driving distance! Book a relaxing Air B ‘n’ B, pack lots of wine and games, and use this time to reconnect with your girlies!


13. Yoga

Embrace your inner Zen and do yoga in the mornings! Alo Yoga channel has a ton of free classes on YouTube that are perfect for beginners. This is another great way to stay active throughout the winter.


14. Host a Wine and Cheese Night

My two favorite things. Amazing together or separate. The perfect life partners. Wine and cheese.


Host an evening event and have everyone bring a bottle of their favorite wine and a unique cheese. During the event, collaborate in order to construct the perfect charcuterie board and spend the evening indulging in various wines and cheeses. Check out the Beautiful Boards book for a variety of ideas on creating an array of party snack boards!

15. Embrace Your Inner Kid

Play in the snow, go bowling, or visit a local arcade!


16. Go Thrift Shopping

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Spend a Saturday going thrifting with a friend, specifically a patient friend that will enjoy digging as much as you!


17. Decorate Sugar Cookies

Bake and decorate bakery-worthy sugar cookies. Wilton’s has great starter kits that include bags and tips that allow beginners to get started with decorating!

18. Read a Book

I am so guilty of equating relaxation to watching television. Stretch your mind, consider new ways of thinking, and pick up a book. I have grown to love sitting by the fireplace with a cup of tea and reading. Currently, I am reading Wheat Belly, by William Davis. This book provides a doctor’s view of wheat and how it is slowly harming our bodies. Such a good read if you struggle with digestion or if you’re looking into changing your nutrition lifestyle.

19. Watch a Weekly Show with Friends and Turn It Into a Party

Find a show that you and your friends both enjoy and create a weekly viewing party! I LOVE to watch the Bachelor each week with my girls. The commentary that we provide makes it all the more fun. Bring a bottle of wine to share and turn it into a true watch party!


20. Bake

Go through your mom’s old recipes and recreate a family favorite dessert!


XOXO,

Abbey Rose

444 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page