top of page

Celebrating the Distance: How to Make Your Loved One Feel Special During the Holidays While Apart

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

This is not my first rodeo, y’all! Luke and I have spent the majority of our time as a couple, and as newlyweds, apart. Although I miss Luke (because I really do), you definitely still reach a point where the distance becomes easier and the time that you do spend with your hubby is all the more treasured. However, there is totally one exception to this, celebrations, – a time when complacency cannot creep in!


I 100% am in love with holidays. I don’t care what we are celebrating, or who it is for. If there is a party, or even just random cake for that matter, you can bet that I will make an appearance. Christmas, birthdays, St. Patty’s Day, you name it, I can find a reason to celebrate.


Luke and I have spent three seasons of celebrating birthdays together…or I guess I should say, celebrating apart. You read it here first folks, zero birthdays physically in person together. Like I said, I am a pro at this! TODAY is Luke’s birthday! Happy Birthday, love. (You better be reading this lol)


Even though we have never celebrated together, we still make a point to make one another feel loved on our special days. Here are some ideas that I have implemented because distance is no excuse to not celebrate!


1. Surprise Party

Even though you may not be a part of the celebration, surround your loved one with people that care about him that are near! Hosting a small get together from afar is easy, as long as you have the phone number for a nearby friend. Venmo a friend money, have him pick up some drinkity dranks, cupcakes from a local bakery, and some quick snacks! Be that weirdo wife (or girlfriend) that DMs people. Bada Bing! You got yourself a full blown party without even having to show up. The best of both worlds.


2. Surprise Guest – Aka Me

Ok ok, this one is the trickiest. I can’t keep a secret to save my LIFE. I am also the worst liar; so, even if I think I am doing good, somehow I have already blown it. However, if you have the time, room in the budget for a plane ticket, and can keep a secret, go surprise your man! Turn off your shared location and be his birthday gift!


3. Scavenger Hunt

This one takes a little bit of effort, but is so fun! Once again, you’re going to need to have a friend or family member that is near him do a little dirty work for you. It’s not breaking and entering if you know the person, right?! Send a friend small gifts, scavenger hunt cards, and instructions. Have the person hide the gifts for you and give your significant other the scavenger hunt cards and instructions on their birthday. Make your loved one Facetime you during the search so that you can be a part of the day of hunt. Having someone work for their gifts is so much better than just handing them over!


4. Order Food

Check with your man to see if he is free for a meal. Place an order at his favorite restaurant and have it delivered to him. You know what they say, food is the way to a man’s heart!


5. Order a Cake

Find a local bakery that provides delivery services. Send some sweets to your sweetie!


6. Mail a Card

This is a given and is such a simple way to show someone that you care. Make the extra effort and send some snail mail. A hand written note has so much more meaning than a text message! Amazon has a variety of funny and slightly inappropriate cards that are sure to make your man laugh.


7. Mail a Gift

Even though you aren’t together, this is no excuse to skimp on the gift giving! Order a gift online and send it directly to his location in order to save on shipping. Some of Luke’s favorite gifts that I have purchased for him include watches, ties, customized cornhole boards, and bar accessories.

8. Texts Throughout Day

Typically, I don’t love to text because it feels slightly impersonal to me. However, with how busy life is, texting is an easy way to constantly remind someone that you are thinking about them. Send a text each hour reminiscing about your favorite memories, why you fell in love initially, and things that you love about them.


Showing someone you care can easily be done from afar! Make the most of your situation and find a unique way to celebrate together. Distance is no excuse to not celebrate! I hope my ideas helped, and I would LOVE to hear from y’all with any other ideas!


XOXO

Abbey Rose

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page