top of page

9 Tips and Tricks for Over-Packers that Will Allow You to Fit Everything into a Carry-on Suitcase

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

The following advice is brought to you by a girl that brings a full makeup kit, workout clothes (even though working out on vacay never happens), a hair dryer, and three times the amount of outfits one would ever wear on one trip. Honestly you never know what you might need while traveling, or if you’re going to be in the mood for 5 outfit changes per day. My packing motto is centered around, “If it fits, I am packing it”. Make fun of me if you want, but why leave possible necessary items behind if you can follow a few tricks and make it all fit? Keep reading for packing tips and necessary travel items that will allow you to never have to check a bag at the airport again!


1. Make Use of Every Space and Pack Items Inside of Other Items

Packing items inside of other necessities is one of the easiest ways to make the best use of your space! Socks and underwear are articles that must be brought along, and they take up quite a bit of room if you are vacationing for an extended period of time. Try stuffing these necessities into your shoes. This is space that is typically wasted and should be used in order to save room in your bag, leaving you more room for that new striped romper that wouldn’t fit before!


2. Roll, Roll, Roll

If you have never watched one of those magical videos where they take a suitcase full of clothes, roll them all, and repack the suitcase saving half of the space, go watch. Right now. It is so mesmerizing and so satisfying. Also, I feel like I was packing SO wrong for SO many years. Don’t ask me for the specifics, but rolling ensures that your clothes are tight and compact and will allow you to utilize every last inch of your suitcase. A rolled t-shirt can easily be stuffed into the corner of a suitcase, whereas a t-shirt folded into a square takes up an entire half of a carryon bag.


In order to ensure a tight roll that will not wrinkle your clothes, make sure you have the item folded neatly on a flat surface before rolling the article of clothing. This will take a little extra time but will be so worth it when you arrive to your destination and your clothes aren’t a hot mess!


3. Packing Cubes

Cubes are a great way to stay organized and keep like items together!

I implement cubes for short trips when I do not want to fully unpack my suitcase. Organizing within the cube allows me to keep like items together or to organize by outfit. This will allow you to pull items from individual cubes without having your entire suitcase turn into an unorganized disaster.


My favorite cubes are linked below!

4. Outfit Planning

Preplanning your outfit choices and selecting coordinating colors that can easily be mixed and matched will allow you to pack less items and save so much space in your suitcase! Short trips may not be the time to pack your patterned blouses and colored pants. Stick to matching neutrals within the same color scheme. Not only will these items all coordinate, it will also allow you to bring fewer pairs of shoes.


Items, such as jeans, I will bring only one pair of and match them with different tops and jackets for new looks. However, It is definitely always a gamble that my clumsy self doesn’t spill coffee on my one pair of pants.. fingers crossed!


5. Purchase Travel Sized Items

Mini items are not only required by TSA, they also make for lighter packing! Rather than purchasing overpriced mini products for each trip, I purchase mini empty bottles that can be reused and filled. My favorites are linked below!

Other hair tools, such as blow dryers and straighteners take up so much space and are a necessity for me when I travel. Although a larger investment, I purchased a travel sized hair dryer and flat iron from Chi. I trust this brand and the travel sized products work equally as well as my everyday tools. Purchasing these items allows me to save SO much room in my bag and was a great investment since I frequently travel.


6. Carry On Luggage

In order to successfully travel with a carry-on only, purchasing both a small suitcase and backpack is a MUST. Most airlines will allow you to travel with one personal item, a backpack, and one carry on item, a small suitcase. I invested in pieces that contain many compartments and pockets, as well as are easily expandable. This allows me to pack a lot into a small space, while also staying organized. Also, opt for a cute neutral piece that you will love forever! Luggage is an investment. I absolutely LOVE my leather, Fossil backpack that goes with me everywhere! (Linked below)


7. Get Organized

Staying organized will allow you to optimize your space, as well as ensure that you have exactly what you need before you go! Purchasing specific bags for toiletries, jewelry, and laundry is a necessity. My favorites are linked below!


8. Share with Friend

If you are traveling with others, preplan items that can be shared amongst the group. Sharing hair tools and toiletry essentials can allow you to save on space in your bag!


9. Wear Your Bulkiest Items on the Plane

Layer and strategically wear those bulky items on your flight. Trips in the fall involve needing jeans, a cardigan, a scarf, and a jacket. Packing all of these items in a carry-on wouldn’t allow room for all of my other needs! I always layer and wear these bulky items on the flight in order to save space, as well as keep me warm on the plane.


XOXO,

Abbey Rose

56 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page