top of page

8 Ways to Shop Without the Guilt

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

If ultimate shopping was a profession, I could make a career out of it. I have loved nice things, shiny things, and all things ever since I was a little girl. As a newlywed and recent college graduate, my budget does not always match my taste. This is where my love for deal finding, discount shopping, coupon clipping, and dupe searching has come into play. Read my eight tips to learn how to save money and still purchase the things you love.


1. Download Coupon App

I refuse to purchase anything without using a coupon. Seriously, search online, sign up for email alerts, or give it a few days. Chances are you will save 10%-30% by taking the extra time.


Retail Me Not: This is a great app to use before making an in-store purchase. Retail Me Not allows you to search by store, click on available coupons, and then it will immediately display a barcode that can be scanned in store. I always parooze this app while waiting in line to check out and often save.


Honey: This is a great app to download onto your computer that will allow you to get the greatest deals for online shopping without having to individually search for deals. Honey automatically applies the best discount code to your order.

 

2. Cash Back

I get paid to shop. Every. Single. Time. Cash back rewards are a gift from the shopping gods.


Capital One Quicksilver: As long as you are responsible enough to pay off your full balance each month, having a card that pays a high percentage of cash back is a great way to earn money from shopping, as well as a tool to build your credit score. Use this link to earn $150 initial cash back as a reward for singing up for the card, as well as earn 1.5% cash back for ALL purchases!


Rakuten: This a free app that allows you to shop at all of your favorite stores and earn cash back just for shopping through them. All you have to do is download the Rakuten app or login through their website, create an account, and begin shopping! For example, if I know I am going to purchase something through Aerie, I will first go to Rakuten, search for Aerie, and click on the link. It will then take me to Aerie’s website; however, Rakuten now tracks what I spend at Aerie, and I get a percentage of this in cash back. This is a quick and easy way to earn cash back, and they automatically mail you a check every three months. I have earned $62 already just in 2019! Use my link to get an automatic $10 credited to your account.

 

3. Shop at Discount Stores

I absolutely love shopping at discount stores and searching for things I have been wanting at a much cheaper price. Some of my favorite clothing discount stores include Amazon, TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Nordstrom Rack, and Macy’s Backstage. I have grown to enjoy the search and rarely allow myself to purchase things at full price. In addition, I have purchased 90% of my home décor from local discount stores that heavily markdown goods that are past season or previously returned. Look in your area for stores that purchase pallets of items from retail giants like Target, Meijer, and Amazon. You can often purchase goods for a fraction of the price! I found a $300 Mid Century Modern arm chair that was brand new for only $6.

 

4. Only Shop Clearance Racks

If there are stores that you can’t live without, force yourself to shop the clearance racks first. I used to walk into a store and would not even consider digging through these sections. However, stores are constantly going through inventory and changing products. Look through the clearance racks to purchase trendy items that are not staple pieces to your wardrobe. Spend the extra money on the basics that you will wear for multiple seasons.

 

5. Search for Dupes for Your Favorite Pieces

Love the Gucci belt trend, the look of layered gold necklaces, or large leather hand bags? Me too. Search on Amazon and purchase similar items at a fraction of the price. No one will be able to tell the difference, and you will be able to stay on trend. I have linked some of my recent additions that I got at an amazing price on Amazon!


 

6. Cut Coupons

Rather than instantly tossing out mailed coupons, place them in an envelope in your purse. On the off chance that you use them, you will thank yourself for holding onto them!

 

7. Buy Used

In addition to purchasing from discount stores and shopping with coupons, I have also learned to purchase second hand items from sites such as Poshmark, Mercari, and Facebook Marketplace. Poshmark and Mercari are great sites to find designer items at a discounted price. Facebook Marketplace is helpful when looking for second hand furniture, as well as to find fixer-upper pieces that can be transformed into something great!

 

8. Buy Kids Shoes

For all of you small-footed women out there, purchase kids shoes and spend ½ of the amount on shoes. Take your shoes size and subtract by two in order to find your size in kids’ shoes. I am a size 6 and wear size 4 in kids’ shoes. Some shoes, such as Hunter Rain Boots, Uggs, Sperry’s, and Nike Tennis shoes, have nearly identical kid’s sized versions for a fraction of the cost.


Buy what you love without the guilt by following my tips and tricks!


XOXO,

Abbey Rose

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page